>Fiction: “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo”

I wasn’t planning to read this book – but then I was tired one evening and I watched the movie “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo” – the Swedish version and I liked it. So I decided to read the book to see how it differed from the movie. The stories were quite close – although the book could have ended bit sooner.

The plot of the book is centered around an investigation of a 40 year old disappearance of a 16 year old girl. The two investigators are a journalist, Mikeal Blomkvist, and  a anti-social hacker, Lisbeth Salander. Lisbeth is the girl with the dragon tattoo.

In the course of their investigation the two discover a serial killer who still appears to be operating 40 years later. The novel’s climax occurs when the killer is found. However, the book does not end there. Instead it goes on for a while closing off some other sub-plots.

I enjoyed reading the book, even though I knew what the solution to the mystery was. Perhaps I will read the second book in this series before watching the movie.

 

Leave a Reply

